Govt gazettes land ownership

Kay Kaseke

Lands, Agriculture, and Rural Resettlement Minister Perrance Shiri announced the maximum number of hectares one can own in any ecological region in a Government Gazette released two weeks ago.

Part of the Government Gazette reads: “It is hereby notified that the Minister of Lands, Agriculture, Water and Rural Resettlement has in terms of section 21 of the Land Commission Act (Chapter 20:21) made the following regulations:

“Subject to sections 5 and 6, no person shall own a farm in natural region one if the size of the farm exceeds 250 hectares or natural region two if the size of the farm exceeds 500 hectares or natural region three if the size of the farm exceeds 700 hectares or natural region four if the size of the farm exceeds 1 000 hectares or natural region five if the size of the farm exceeds 2 000 hectar.
Natural region one covers areas that receive an average rainfall above 1 000 millimetres per year, while region two receives an average rainfall between around 650 millimetres and 1 000 millimetres annually.

In region three, rainfall received per year is between 650 millimetres and 800 millimetres, whereas in region four the maximum rainfall received annually is around 650 millimetres and is characterised by periodic droughts.

Natural region five covers those areas that normally receive low and erratic rainfall of less than 650 millimetres.

Natural region one is suitable for dairy farming forestry, tea, coffee, fruit, beef and maize production, while region two is suitable for intensive farming, based on maize, tobacco, cotton and livestock.

Region three is a semi-intensive farming region, suitable for livestock production, together with production of fodder crops and cash crops under good farm management.

Region four is semi-extensive region, suitable for livestock and resistant fodder crops, forestry and wildlife/tourism. Region five is an extensive farming region, suitable for extensive cattle ranching, forestry and wildlife/tourism.

Tendai Guvamombe