Local news

Sibusiso Moyo now minister as ED unveils new cabinet

By Staff Reporter

PRESIDENT Emmerson Mnangagwa has rewarded Major General Sibusiso Moyo with a ministerial post and further redeployed Air Force commander Perrance Shiri to government as he announced a cabinet which retains a lot of old faces although much smaller than the previous one.

A virtually unknown figure among ordinary citizens, Moyo became prominent only two weeks ago when he read a statement which announced the shock military seizure of government from ousted President Robert Mugabe.

Moyo was given the Foreign Affairs Ministry.

Mnangagwa also shut out ministers from the infamous G40 “cabal” which waged a fierce campaign to block his ascendancy to President during Mugabe’s now defunct rule.

Patrick Chinamasa was redeployed to the Finance Ministry while old ally July Moyo landed the Local Government Ministry.

Mnangagwa’s fanatical ally Chris Mutsvangwa becomes information minister while the latter’s wife, Monica was deployed as Manicaland provincial affairs minister.

Full list below.

  1. Patrick Chinamasa, as the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning;
  2. Obert Mpofu, as the Minister of Home Affairs and Culture;
  3. Air Marshal Perrance Shiri, as Minister of Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement;
  4. Dr Lazarus Dokora, as Minister of Primary and Secondary Education;
  5. Dr David Parirenyatwa, as the Minister of Health and Child Care;
  6. Kembo Mohadi, as the Minister of Defence, Security and War Veterans;
  7. Ziyambi Ziyambi, as Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs;
  8. Major General Sibusiso Moyo, as Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade;
  9. Kazembe Kazembe, as Minister of Sport, Arts and Recreation;
  10. Dr Mike Bimha, as Minister of Industry, Commerce and Enterprise Development;
  11. July Moyo, as Minister of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing;
  12. Sithembiso Nyoni, as Minister of Women and Youth Affairs;
  13. Professor Amon Murwira, as Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology Development;
  14. Supa Mandiwanzira, as Minister of Information Communication Technology and Cyber Security;
  15. Professor Clever Nyathi, as Minister of Labour and Social Welfare;
  16. Dr Joram Gumbo, as Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development;
  17. Winston Chitando, as Minister of Mines and Mining Development;
  18. Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri, as Minister of Environment, Water and Climate;
  19. Priscah Mupfumira, as Minister of Tourism and Hospitality Industry;
  20. Ambassador Simon Khaya Moyo, as Minister of Energy and Power Development;
  21. Chris Mutsvangwa, as Minister of Information, Media and Broadcasting Services; and
  22. Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, as Minister of State for Presidential Affairs and Monitoring Government Programmes.

Ministers of State for the Provinces

  1. Angeline Masuku, as Minister of State for Bulawayo Metropolitan;
  2. Miriam Rutendo Chikukwa, as Minister of State for Harare Metropolitan;
  3. Monica Mutsvangwa, as Minister of State for Manicaland;
  4. Martin Tafara Dinha, as Minister of State for Mashonaland Central;
  5. Webster Shamu, as Minister of State for Mashonaland West;
  6. David Musabayana, as Minister of State for Mashonaland East;
  7. Ndabazekaya Ginyilitshe Cain Mathema, as Minister of State for Matabeleland North;
  8. Abednico Ncube, as Minister of State for Matabeleland South;
  9. Josiah Dunira Hungwe, as Minister of State for Masvingo; and
  10. Owen Ncube, as Minister of State for Midlands.
  11. Dr Christopher Mushohwe, as Minister of State for Government Scholarships in the President’s Office.

Deputy Ministers

  1. Terence Mukupe, as Deputy Minister for Finance and Economic Development;
  2. Davis Marapira, as Deputy Minister of Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement;
  3. Professor Paul Mavima, as Deputy Minister of Primary and Secondary Education;
  4. Victor Matemadanda; as Deputy Minister for War Veterans;
  5. Pupurayi Togarepi, as Deputy Minister for Youth Affairs; and
  6. Joshua Malinga, as Deputy Minister for Social Welfare.

The appointments take immediate effect.

Date and time for the swearing-in ceremony will be announced in due course.

Gary Murambiwa
the authorGary Murambiwa